Random Goodness

Good afternoon Knitters,

I hope your June is off to a wonderful start and you’re able to enjoy your knits this Saturday.  It’s warm and humid today, but then again, it’s a typical June in the D.C. area.  It’s been some time since my last post, but I’ve been gathering some ideas along the way and I think random goodness accurately captures this post perfectly.

Each day, I count my blessing for the roof over my head, the food on table, and the love of my family.  We currently live in the city where I’m able to move about on my two feet or take the metro to all my favorite haunts. However, some would say that I live in a “changing” neighborhood where progress has been slow compared to other parts of the city.  That’s why I’m particularity excited that a new farmers market recently opened walking distance from my home. It’s small and intimate, but I can picture myself waking up early Saturday mornings for a stroll and picking up fresh veggies and fruits along the way.  I didn’t have a list this morning, but I randomly picked up these colorful goodies.

DSC01830                                    DSC01832

Perhaps I’m moving into nesting mode, but lately I’ve been curious to learn how to can fruits and veggies for this fall and winter. I’ll keep you posted of that progress and may posts some of those attempts here. If you can your own fruits/veggies and want to share some tips, please let me know!


So now onto some knitting and the progress of my first lace shawl. As you may remember, I began this pattern last winter and it seemed to be going OK.  However, when I attempted to repeat Chart 2, I began to make epic mistakes and not just for a little bit, but for weeks. I kept staring at it…looking at the chart and could not understand what I was doing wrong. Finally, I decided to frog the shawl completely and look for a more simple pattern. As I was pulling the yarn off my needles, IT CLICKED!!! So I began again with Chart 1 and now I’m on my fifth repeat of Chart 2.  Yes, there are mistakes as with many of my first new projects, but I’m having fun again and isn’t that the point?

DSC01833                    DSC01834

DSC01837

DSC01839

I’ve never worked with cotton yarn before and that has been huge part of the pleasure of working this project. Now, I can imagine what this shawl will look like completed, washed, blocked, and ready to wear!

…And to round out this random goodness post, I just remembered that I never shared any pictures from my first visit to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.  In my excitement of being a newish knitter, I wanted to experience this festival with some of my girlfriends, but most were a bit underwhelmed with the possibility.  So with my deepest gratitude, Travis joined me at the festival.  I’ll close the post here because who doesn’t enjoy seeing some of our sheepish friends.

Until next time, happy knitting dear friends!

DSC01823                                          DSC01824

 

DSC01822

DSC01821

Leave a comment