Traditions

Hello Knitters,

Happy July and hope you’re doing well. I’m in desperate need of a vacation, but perhaps we may take a mini break later this summer for a change of scenery.  As I think about my next vacation destination, I’ve also been thinking a lot about traditions. Traditions that my family passed along to me and what I want to pass along to our soon-to-be-here son.

Like many modern women, some of the traditions of my grandparents and my parents stopped during my generation.  Even through money was tight, my grandparents baked, cooked, canned, and used other sustaining efforts through tough times. My mom mentioned that some of those cooking efforts didn’t continue with her, but her craft and artistic side created new traditions in her teens/early twenties. My mother was/is a beautiful sewer and for a couple of years when my brother and I were young, she would sew our Easter outfits for church.  One outfit in particular has so much meaning that  she kept my dress and my brother’s suit.

IMG_1318

And like many families, many traditions are associated with happy memories to be passed along to the next generation. For me, that meant decorating Christmas cookies, nightly family dinners, homemade cream of wheat and hot cocoa after playing in the snow, and actual books and stories before bed to instill the love of reading just to name a few.

I’m thinking about all those traditions and new memories that I want to create, so I started my first baby blanket in a chevron pattern. The colors mean a lot to me which includes our wedding colors and colors of fall to symbolize his autumn birth.

IMG_1310               IMG_1313

I’m hoping that this will be one of many hand-knits and traditions that I pass along to him and perhaps his future family.  So what are some of your traditions that you are passing along (or hope to) or what new traditions are you creating?


I’ve mentioned before the cultural opportunities of living in Washington, DC and a long standing tradition includes the Smithsonian Folklife Festival. The festival was a bit smaller this year focusing  on the country and traditions of Peru. My office is across the street from the national mall and during my lunch break and I had the wonderful opportunity to explore the music, food, and textiles of Peru.  After walking around the festival, I returned back to my office with a huge smile on my face–feeling fortunate to have this wonderful opportunity for a few moments.

IMG_1298            IMG_1297

IMG_1290         IMG_1292

IMG_1295

IMG_1294

IMG_1293

Continue to enjoy those small and large traditions with your family and friends and lets keep talking about the new traditions that we hope to create.

Happy knitting

–Stephanie

One thought on “Traditions

  1. I am at a loss for words! This is Mom!
    My heart was filled with love reading your comments about family traditions — those that are planted in our lives. Family traditions, or at least their stories, should last forever – leaving you with warm memories. They’re the kind you want to pass along to your children. I still remember the day I took this picture of you and Michael. It was a perfect, sunny day, full of joy and laughter. Making those two outfits was so much fun and you both loved being “all dressed up”. Stephanie, you continue to make me proud. The making of your own memories has just begun with your husband and new baby on the way! When you sent me the picture of “a blanket you were working on”, I had no idea it was for the baby…our soon-to-be grandchild! And giving each color it’s own meaning speaks to a bright future. How beautiful!

    My mother (Rosetta) learned from my grandmother (Irene) the art of working with your hands and enjoying it! Things like cooking, sewing, canning, painting, and even fixing what was broken, gets better simply with experience. They also knew if it no longer thrills you, then it becomes just work. But when we do something we really like (as they did), and put our own touches on it, we are truly crafters! I am so glad I talk to you about these women in our family – what they shared and what they taught me. And now, as fate has it, you have found and developed your own craft. It’s in our blood and it will be for generations to come.

    Our mother/daughter love is forever strong!
    I love you!
    -Mom

Leave a comment